FMP – GOOD DESIGN EVALUATION

  • In what ways have you considered the sustainability of your project process and outcomes?

    I feel that the project itself (The Festival) is not the most sustainable. With a festival comes a lot of waste and littering although, Festivals are something that have been around for a very long time now and it is something that I feel is ethically and morally a good thing in my opinion due to the vast amount of people that it is encouraging to enjoy themselves outdoors.

  • In what ways have you considered the ethical implications of your project process and outcomes?

    Again sustainably this is not the best project, this is something I had half considered when creating such a bright and colourful design was the cost and impact of printing large poster etc in this design although I feel morally that a festival is a great way of getting young people outdoors.

  • In sustainability and ethical terms in what ways was your work in this project an improvement or a backward step for you as a socially conscious designer?

    I feel in this project although I had considered this the design for me could not suffer as a result of the ethical terms of the design, I fully appreciate and am very aware of this implications that the vast amount of waste, litter, paper and ink usage and travel etc that a festival would unfortunately create but I feel it is still a positive and all inclusive event which I personally think is needed in todays climate of negative issues so in my opinion the positivity of a great and cheerful event would out balance this in my opinion although I appreciate that perhaps there may have been a better way to create the designs to insure they were more ethical especially with the colours and printing but for this artwork I knew that this was needed to give the event its full potential.

  • What targets can you make at this point for your work in the future as a socially conscious designer?

    I think in future although I would never stunt the communication of a piece to insure it was more ethical I will probably give more thought to the paper and ink usage in brightly coloured and large scale advertising when creating this and also maybe consider for tickets etc how much waste this may cause. It may have been more beneficial to have had E-Tickets for a project such as this and also to cut advertising down to purely online and social media advertising.

Leave a comment