DPS 1 Development

With this double page spread I wanted to use the grid system that I invstigated in my previous blog posts. I tried doing this in 2 different variations as I was not sure weather I wanted the title or the image to balance the left side to the right side with the body of text. The white text was not visible enough and neither was the black therefore I added a low opacity box of a colour that complimented the imagery in the background to give and clear and consise body of text which although I felt this worked nicely it was not as balanced as I would like – I thought it was rather to type heavy at the top and although there was imagery at the bottom it did not work as well as I would have liked.

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 11.37.50.png

I then tried to place all the text slightly more into the centre to give a more balanced feel, I then decided I was not keen on the blue background for the typography so to make it more ledgeable I decided I would use an image for the other side.

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 12.16.37.png

I decided I would try a more boxed layout with a image background on one side, I did the same thing with the body of type as the previous one but made it black and gave it’s own page which I liked, I also decided that the boarder around the image looks to

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 12.23.37.png

I then created this layout with another one of my pictures from Thailand. I chose this picture because I felt as if the boat in the image drew more to focus to the bottom of the image therefore giving us more balance from the top of the image with the title, I then decided I did not like the way the left aligned title was top heavy compared to the body of text so decided I would try the left hand page on the 2nd spread example.

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 12.54.37.png

I really liked this final example and thought it worked really well, It gave a really clear and interesting feel rather than the plain left aligned type etc.

I think it looks really balanced and easier on the eye.

I am really pleased with this one inparticular and think it would work effectively as an artical.

I decided I would create something where both sides has more information on, It just seemed a bit of a waste of page by not have any information on the left title page.

I wanted to challenge myself to create something with a little more content this time, I decided to do a page which showed the top 3 day trips I went on in Thailand. I tried to do this in more of a general sense so included some that you could do in any part of Thailand.

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 15.03.28.png

I thought this was really effective and as a majority of the photography was completed in one day, therefore, the colours etc go together really effectively and I am really happy with them – I think they work really nicely and are really effective, I think it looks a lot more full and less sparse although I did like the use of space this looks much more professional and I really like it.

Leave a Reply

