Website Research

Throughout this project I have been quite lucky as it is festival season so all the festivals have just bought out all there fresh branding and website designs.

Before creating the website I wanted to have a look into some other websites and look at the way they work, Now as a lot of other festival branding is, The website would be changing every year so I think it is best to go with a simple design.

Looking at the other festival websites this was a common theme. The wireless website starts with a very simple fading banner with the images from previous festivals, I will not have this option unless I use stock images so this is something I will need to work around due to this being a new festival.

Screen Shot 2017-05-31 at 11.10.31.png

The website is easily navigable, you click on the menu icon in the top right hand corner  and the menu comes up at the top  bar of the page, This then links you out to clear and consise pages.Screen Shot 2017-05-31 at 11.10.41.png

The line-up page is quite decrotive although something I did consider interesting was that they do not include the line up or any of the headliners on the first page, This is something that I think as a consumer would be my main focus of the festival and this is what I would be looking to see on the home page.
Screen Shot 2017-05-31 at 11.10.54.png

I like the way they have used images for the line up as it makes the artists easily recognisable and makes people more inclined to remeber who they are,I think this is a new touch although something that I did find was that scrolling through the website like this the images took up a lot of space and I was more interested on just seeing a list or maybe just the names with a few images around as I think if you like the artists you would know who they were as I tend to look through the lineup for the names I know and like.

Screen Shot 2017-05-31 at 11.55.07.png

I then took a look at the information page which I thought was really interesting, I thought it worked really well and although slightly more plain you can navigate to which ever bit you need without having to go through a whole load of information which I like, They have broken all the important into down into smaller sections which I think works nicely as a whole, I also think the icons help to make it more easily navigated although for want of a better word think they look slightly childish which is not something I would ussaully go for when targetting something at a teenage market.

I then looked at one of the other popular festivals this summer which is not held by Live Nation but is really interesting and they branding is very unique so I was interested into investigating how this worked in the website design.

Screen Shot 2017-05-31 at 11.12.03.png

The website is quite busy, I am not too sure about the subtitle across the sun as I think it is not very readable although I really like the fact that as soon as you open the page the first thing you come across was the date and the line up which I feel is an important element of the festival and I feel like on this first page alone I have all initial information I need about the festival without having to look for it.

Screen Shot 2017-05-31 at 11.12.11.png

When you click on the menu icon in the corner it takes you to the menu with all the information you might need.

I actually am not to keen on the menu tabs in these sites, I can understand that they probably do it so that the menu is not interfering with the design but I think I would rather have mine incorporated. I also think I prefer a site that scrolls rather than fades to another page, I like to feel like all the information is there on one page and you can just get to the parts you need by scrolling rather than having to clunk around buttons.

I found some designs online which show scroll websites,Which are websites that are built on one page and like the one below some have a top bar which include the menu and when you press buttons it shoots you down to which ever bit the info you are looking for is in, Not only does this help to create something flowing and cohesive but it makes the peice tie together and makes for easy navigation.

Website.jpg

Leave a Reply

