Pattern Making… Experimentation

So I decided to just try to experiment with shapes and patterns whilst keeping in mind my research into 80’s art work and also tried to keep in mind music and positivety and how I could insure the patterns and shapes where reflecting this.

I started of being inspired by Yoko Honda’s work that I previously looked at and started to create random shapes with the pen took and placing them around the logo – I thought the colours would become more apparent on a black background so tried this first also this was something I had seen a lot through 80’s art works. I used gradients on the shapes and lines as this is something that I had experienced in the research into 80’s artwork and thought was really interesting.
Screen Shot 2017-05-10 at 18.16.41.png
I placed the shapes around with enough space between each to make it even and pleasing on the eye, I then decided it was a little too plain so decided to add something in the back ground.. I wanted to just add some white dots so looked to use one of the pre-set ones on illustrator but unfortunatly these are all black there for opted to use a curved shape that looks similar to the ones already used on the shapes.
Screen Shot 2017-05-10 at 18.15.24.png
I made it white and then went to object>pattern>make! I then did hex by row and selected them to be touching as I thought this was interesting.
Screen Shot 2017-05-10 at 18.23.25.png
I then discovered that you could not read the logo or title as they were barely visible with such a strong white pattern behind therefore turned the opacity down to 14%.
Screen Shot 2017-05-10 at 18.16.31.png

I actually think that the outcome is quite interesting although again I want to give the 80’s feel but with more of a modern twist – Although the logo is modern it is still rather dated… I decided to go ahead making more of a geometric background but include patterns into the shapes to reflect some previous research which gave 80’s vibes but with a modern twist.

Leave a Reply

