More Experimentation….

Inspired by some art work I had seen online (in one of my previous blog posts) I decided I would try something similar.. I used the inspiration next to the art work to insure that I was creating something in the same style and a long the lines that I was attracted to in the first place.

I started of by making shapes that fitted together using mainly rectangles and triangles as I felt these would fit together to fill the space more effectively – I then used a combination of different pre-loaded patterns along with my own patterns to achieve the desired effect.
This video shows the process I created to come up with this final product… I used a screen recorder to show this process so that it could be repeated if I need to.

To insure I used my desired colour pallete and also to tied the work together to look like a cohesive peice rather than lots of different patterns I added thick strokes around the outer edge of each shape to tie the whole look together.

This is the final product – I think it looks interesting and bright and works nicely to portray a postive and interesting feel for the festival – I am really pleased with it although.. It is not very fuctional.

Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 14.53.41.png

Reason being as you can see having laid text over this it is not visible at all as you can see – This is a requirment of mine due to the fact that I would need the poster as well as the line up to have quite a lot of information which unfortunatly is not something that can be achieved with this design.

Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 14.56.01.png

I then thought that there may be an option to incorporate the text/type/info as part of the design in the white space but I think this is going to be too much white space and again too busy, I want the piece to be simple and readable and to look modern and well designed so I think this would not be an option for me.

Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 14.59.25.png

Leave a Reply

