COLOURS

I decided to put some focus into the colour of my piece due to my previous piece feeling washed out and dated, this has helped me to establish that I want a very bright and eye catching piece that would draw attention and also that would appeal to the modern audience that I was keen to appeal to.

I wanted colours that communicated connotations of summer and connoted positivity. To me I knew that bright colours would do this nicely so I went on it to Adobe Color CC and typed in POP & BRIGHT and these were a few of the results I liked.

I think both examples are quite unisex – I really like the first example although I am not as keen on the blues – I am not sure they go with the rest of the colours although the colours when viewed without the blues do remind me of a sunset almost and think this would work nicely as this is something that would work for the theme of the festival.

I started to adjust the colours slightly to see if I could achieve this connoted more strongly.

Screen Shot 2017-05-10 at 13.15.30Screen Shot 2017-05-10 at 13.14.33

I made the yellow slightly more orange as I felt this reflected it a lot better and thought it would work nicely to make the blues one a lot darker and then one lighter to contrast the other dark colours..

Screen Shot 2017-05-10 at 13.23.00Screen Shot 2017-05-10 at 13.26.09

I then decided to get a stock image of a sunset and draw the colours from this in illustrator to see how close I could get the colours.

As you can see I chose some colours out of the image and then are still a long the lines of the colours I initially looked at although the last couple of colours I chose to compliment rather than from the image it’s self.

Screen Shot 2017-05-10 at 13.51.59.png

I then decided that some of the colours were slightly too muted so I decided to make these colours stand out more – Although I except that maybe the colours I want do not exist in real life but I think this is something that is a trend at the moment with the neons and other bright colours popping up so I have used these colours to insure that my peice is as eyecatching as possible in competition with other bright peices in the market at the moment.

Screen Shot 2017-05-10 at 14.55.03.png

I have created this colour pallete and I am happy with it as it will give me something to work with in this projct going foward.. As you can see I have also tried to logo on the various colours just to make sure it works nicely with the vibrant colours.

Screen Shot 2017-05-10 at 14.59.53.png

Leave a Reply

