GRID LAYOUT RESEARCH

This is a very widely used and very smart grid technique. This has been around for a very long time and goes right back to manuscripts where by they used to say that the most eye-catching part of the page was the section highlighted in red below and that that this is where the eye automatically draws to.
I think this is really interesting and works really nicely.

I have looked online to try and find some examples of where this has been used and it actually was not too difficult – it is obvious that a lot of other designers find this effective in there designs and I can see why.

The white space around the edge draws eye to the imagery intended – I think its really interesting and works really nicely.

grid-system-how-to.jpg

As you can see these ones below use this very obviously and also use lines and columns to show this even more clearly and I think it works really nicely.

DPS .jpg

I also like the way that they use this effect on one side of the double page spread and then they use an image bleeding of the edge as I feel it does look interesting but in my opinion I think this one looks slightly unbalanced so I think that white space is imperative and gives for a more balanced feel to the pages.

Screen Shot 2017-02-23 at 16.52.34.pngScreen Shot 2017-02-23 at 16.52.17.png

Leave a Reply

