MEETING WITH CLIENT & FEEDBACK

The meeting we had today was held at YoYo design agency where we met with Louisa and Harriet who work at YoYo and also Ania and Traci who are in charge of running the event – The event is called “Women Work” The strap line is “Empower Women, Mothers, Daughters & The Men Who Support Them”.

Initially I kept very quiet as I just wanted to get an idea of the way they were going with the event and what had already been arranged etc.

It unravelled that actually this is already something that has taken a lot of hard work and dedication by the ladies running it, Most of the speakers and workshops had already been arranged although they explained there was still a few people they were trying to get involved.

I then tried to move the convocation onto the strap line – As soon as this was mentioned it brought up a possible problem for me as a designer. This is a much longer strap line than most designers would like to work with – Although it is possible to work this I wanted to make the client aware of this so that we were still at a point where by they might be able to think more about it at this stage.

As soon as I showed them the sketches they pointed out the problem that I saw in the first place about the cocoon design being too detailed for there purpose although they did point out that it was very nice and I should do this for something else in my portfolio.

Traci explained she really related with the butterfly logo and thought that it worked really well to express the ethos and meaning of the event, Ania pointed out this sketch and said she loved the way it showed a heart in the wings – This must have been subliminal for me as this is not something I initially noticed about this but it was a happy coincidence I suppose.

I think I was very lucky – This is not a usual design situation.

The client chose the sketch and said we will go with this one.

It is not very often that a client just falls in love with your idea and chooses one of the colours and just goes with it.

We also covered what my responsibilities would be and I listed them so I could work through as I go :-

– Logo and branding
– Flyers/Leaflets for the event
– Posters and advertising for the event
– Social media designs

I was happy to do this and am quite excited to get started.

I am really pleased they are happy with the designs

Leave a Reply

