Good Design Evaluation

  • In what ways have you considered the sustainability of your project process and outcomes?In the brief for this project we were asked to consider our souvenir being re-producable, To me this meant making it sustainable and usable in the future.
    I actually initially chose my project to have pages throughout being tracing paper which I then made a decision for it to be acetate as this would work better and show the other imagery a lot better and upon trying the tracing paper it was a bit too foggy and did not work with the dark imagery, It did not show the behind images well enough so I made a slightly less sustainable decision of using something non biodegradable over something that isn’t such as acetate.
  • In what ways have you considered the ethical implications of your project process and outcomes?

Through creating artwork that is not only controversial but has a lot of ethical issues related to it I found it important as a personal decision to tread very carefully, Not only is this a subject that I do not feel should be directed at children as I feel its very heavy subject matter for children. I found that it was also very important to try and portray this theme and very light hearted way but I was also very careful not to be too jokey about it as some of the subjects are very emotional for some people and you wouldn’t want to look as if you were talking the mick out the subject. I decided ethically I did not want to choose Cancer treatments or 911 as I feel so many people where so heavily hurt in there lives by the back lash of these conspiracies that it would be ethically there was too much emotion involved to create art work for this. I decided I would keep it lighthearted as I feel we don’t need anything more depressing and heavy in the world.

  • In sustainability and ethical terms in what ways was your work in this project an improvement or a backward step for you as a socially conscious designer?

I do feel as if being socially conscious & ethical is a constant balance, this is something I noticed through out this project, Although I believe you should always make an effort to do this but I feel you need insure this is not jeopardise new and innovative thought prosess  and ideas, I feel as if this should always be a consideration as a designer though.
I actually believe in my personal design ethics are more important to me that sustainability, I think design can be very powerful and a huge impact on people so ethically I would not be too keen to design something I was not ethically comfortable with just for money although sustainability is not something I am as conscious of if I am perfectly honest but I think this is something I will look into with future project so I would say this would be my step-back although I am aware of how this works and how I can improve this as in previous projects such a the design factory project I was more than aware of this.

  • What targets can you make at this point for your work in the future as a socially conscious designer?

I feel from this project it would be useful to be more aware of the sustainable side of things, Although ethically I have a good understanding of work  I am not happy to create but feel as if it is not something I consider after I have illustrated and/or design I don’t really think about how or where or who is producing my design or where it go afterwards, Well this is not something I thought about through out this particular project so it would be my target to try and do this in my coming projects.

Leave a Reply

