Creating Page 1 – Astronaut & Flag

I decided for this piece I wanted to use a genuine image from the actual scene, I thought this would more truly reflect the scene and just thought it was cool that this was something I could do to make it more true to the original images but put my own spin on it.

My plan is to make this slightly more detailed as I am more familiar with the style now so should be able to work quicker and also having more detail will draw more attention and this is the part of the image I would like to stick out.

This was the image I used..

Astronaut.jpg

 

I created the image in exactly the same way although this did take me an awful lot longer primarily because it had a lot more detail and there was few bits that I sort of had to make up,A lot of the image was slightly to dark to follow the colouring and shape (the feet etc)  so I had to work closely to insure any bits that I drew from my head still fit the image realistically. I decided for this piece, Learning from my previous illustration I would work on a red background, Mainly because it meant I can see all the light and dark colours where as on white you can’t see the lighter ones and black you can’t see anything  dark, I looked what it looked occasionally to see what it would look like but other than this I worked on red.

I did this with slightly smaller shapes and more colours so it took slightly longer but it was ok because by this point I had gotten used to the process so I was faster all together and quite enjoyed doing it.

Screen Shot 2017-01-13 at 15.53.41.png

I worked top to bottom and I worked very very closely.

Screen Shot 2017-01-13 at 15.54.17.png

I wanted to include all the detail and get it as close to the original as possible but still wanted to keep the painted raw feel to keep the texture of it as I quite liked this feel.

As I said I had to free hand the feet and even the hands slightly because the image was not as clear and also quite dark in some spaces so I just worked from the shapes in the image and did this to fit the rest of the illustration, I do think you can tell to a certain extent but I am still quite happy with the final imagery and I think it suits the illustration style so I’m happy with it.

I am happy with the final, I think it is effective and they will work nicely together when I pull the elements together at the end.

Screen Shot 2017-01-13 at 16.02.35.png

I decided then that I would add a flag as I feel this will help me to communicate my message and will specify the which moon landing it was.
I just did this in the same way.. Step by step adding layers and colours.

Screen Shot 2017-01-04 at 13.26.49.png
Screen Shot 2017-01-13 at 11.39.35.png

Screen Shot 2017-01-13 at 16.14.14.png

 

 

Leave a Reply

