London DPS

The first thing I did to make sure my magazine had PERFECT layout I popped in some columns to insure that my text columns would sit nicely on the page with even middle gutters. This idea was that this followed the complex grid layout that the perfect proportion is to have those 2 middle sections,This is something I thought would be interesting to follow as if goes way back so must make some sense.

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 18.26.16.pngScreen Shot 2016-05-16 at 18.26.49.png

I then put my title in,I was not sure whether I wanted to have LDN as the title of actually London, This was minion pro , I wanted to keep my font very simple and legible and it fitted really well, I liked the fact it looked really clear and spacious although I felt the title letters where not spaced out enough so changed the leading in the character tab and really liked the result,  I wanted to add different images to work out how this might work in my final and see how I wanted it to look here is some images I added to look at.Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 19.18.27.png

I really liked this,I chose to make it centre alined as this worked better with the grids I wanted to use to help me insure my layout worked well.
Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 18.29.20Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 18.28.33Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 18.28.52Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 18.29.02

I felt that the image that worked best in this layout is this one.

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 18.28.33

I think this layout is the most effective as the photography being light portrays a different view of London, To make the whole thing more interesting this is something I was striving for with my double page spread is to make sure that portrays different views of london and how it is not all city skylines and graphity, I also feel wheather does a lot for environment,The weather can make someone seem completey different.This is the one I have chosen for my final,I have chose to put the title as LONDON because I feel this makes more of a statement about the DPS and what they are about.

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 19.29.38.png

My inspirations for this final and the designs I looked at in my final really show how I got to this outcome, I really got inspiration from the most simple and clean designs and so that is somethings I was inclined to get to with my finals.

Leave a Reply

