Making My DPS

As I said I will be using Indesign and Photoshop in the project, Once I had done some research I found that it might be interesting to give a go incorporating some illustration into my double page spreads.

I started of by creating a 200 x 200 mm double page spread and did a few of them so that I could create different ones of the same page for easy comparisons, This is something that is really useful in indesign and it helps to insure you are choosing the strongest version of your work for projects, I will be creating different versions of my DPS based on different topics so that I can choose and develop the strongest one at the end to print.

Screen Shot 2016-05-06 at 14.11.28.png

Inspired by my research and having found an inspirational DPS using a bit of illustration I thought this is something I could try. Here shows below what I did to create this.

Screen Shot 2016-05-15 at 22.52.31.png
Using the pen, line and circle tool in illustrator I created a vector of the image below to create an interesting image of a silhouette of the skyline of billingsgate, I think this looks creative and works nicely as a simple vector.

2016-05-07 04.11.19-2.jpg

I then created an introduction page / the first of my double page spreads using an image of the inside of the market. Although I think this is effective I do not feel it is appropriate for the set brief, It is not photography based enough.Screen Shot 2016-05-13 at 13.45.21.png

I really like this and I think it would be really nice to use in a different project but I just think that it is not enough photography to make it fit in to photography now cohesively.

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 10.34.57.png

I then decided I would try to use the image in the background (ignore the quality its on preview mode) I then wanted to portray the outside of the market somehow so decided to do this in the type and use the bright yellow colour of the outside of the building, This image uses the rule of thirds, The market ally draws a line down the middle of the page, I wanted to place the type where the imagery had a particulaly blank space and also not to interfere with the important pieces of imagery, I think although this works as a layout it looks really clean although I am not keen on how some of the text is to bright so blends into the background it makes it less legible.
I then tried a different piece of imagery in the background.

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 11.15.06.png

I really like the way the type sits on this imagery. I think it works really nicely although I still am not keen on the background image.

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 11.20.32.png

I then wanted to try something slightly different with the same image, I might try using something where I can place the text.

Leave a Reply

