Digital Media ~ Apps & Icons

I wanted to have a look into some apps and the icons they use, Mainly I wanted to look at this to gain some information about how we look at icons Vs how we see words.
This is an attempt to work out for my website how much I wanted to use simple icons appose to words and labels.
Icons and apps are becoming SO popular and SO accessible now that they are becoming more and more convenient.
I decided I would go online and look at some exciting app icons and compare this to if you just used the word instead.

Screen Shot 2016-03-22 at 13.25.36.png
Clock

This icon shows a clock, I feel if you said the word clock to someone this would be very subjective, you might think of a grand father clock, pocket watch, wrist watch or maybe a large wall clock, Although these do not seem like very substantial changes but when you are trying to communicate a message, I feel because of the shape of this clock and the little lump on top it looks like an alarm, This is something that is almost impossible to communicate just with a label,Even the word alarm would connote a lot of different things for a user, I feel also we an icon people get used to seeing icons and it becomes familiar there for insuring we understand it.

Screen Shot 2016-03-22 at 13.26.19.png
Volume

This is an icon most of us are very familiar with from our television remotes to our phones and computers this is very widely used, The word volume is another one that really does mean a lot of different things.

 

Screen Shot 2016-03-22 at 13.26.41.png
Power

Again another familiar one the work could mean a lot of different things. This thing with this example is that it does not as a symbol actually signify another to do with power or turning something on, It is simply something we have learnt from on TV remote of computer that we now recognise so we know how to use it.

Conclusion

From this research I have concluded exactly what I thought, Icons are a lot more effective than using labels or words.People have come to recognise shapes and colours so that icons can now be used for a wide range of things.
This is something I will use in my final piece and insure that I can effectively navigate my website with my icons.

Leave a Reply

