Accessibility

Having something in the public domain gives you the responsibility (especially as a designer) to insure that what you create and how you promote yourself is easily accessible for a wide audience.I have been thinking about who might be excluded in my website and how I could prevent this.

My first thought is for deaf people and how my site might work for them, luckily my site doesn’t include anything that would need to heard so I’m not sure that this would be something I need to think about with my process.

Screen Shot 2016-03-18 at 17.36.32.png

I thought again of who would be excluded with my work would be visually impaired and blind communities.I feel as if this is a difficult element to consider with web because being blind is a large impairment and with having web design being a mainly visual thing it is quite difficult. Personally I’m not sure if this is an element I need to consider as design is primarily visual although having looked at this I feel it will make me have a consideration for this in further work.

Screen Shot 2016-03-16 at 15.30.18.png

I think this is something I could put into some of my print work in the future and also if the opportunity came up where someone visually impaired needed to understand my work and what I do then I would create a document in brail explaining my work individually although something that I could include is a speech button meaning that anyone that can use the computer could play the speech on my website for the computer to read the text on my page, this may help and includes a different and interesting element to the website.

Screen Shot 2016-03-16 at 16.04.10.png

Leave a Reply

