Mods Signifier

Screen Shot 2015-12-01 at 11.32.31
This was the first signifier that I chose as I felt this represents Mods really well, Firstly because they were very well known for wearing them on there parka coats.Also I feel the slick and simple style of the symbol reflects what the mods strive for in the fashion very clearly.
I also think that the red and blue sort of makes a connotation to drugs as the 3d images we see as “trippy imagery”(I have shown an example below). This suits the mods as the more sinister side of them was that they did take amphetamines other wise known as speed.
These images I feel connote these types of drugs and this would be interesting to present as I feel its not the most common side of mods thats represented.
Screen Shot 2015-11-26 at 22.36.46.png
Mods are a VERY British subculture so also these colours represent the union jack and our national flag.My next step will be to do some thumbnails that have inspired me and also to look at some more signifiers that represent my subculture.

Leave a Reply

