Text for DPS & Nostalgia

I wrote a passage of text prompted by the knowledge I had gained through out the research I carried out this project.I felt I wanted this passage to not only reflect the feeling of this mods but the nostalgia that would come with being a mod as I thought the main audience for a revival is people who had been involved with mods in the past and I feel a good way to communicate to them would be to create nostalgia and remind them of how it felt.
I decided to include a quote from the film “Quadrophenia”.This was a well known film and gave another slant on the mods , I felt like this would be a brilliant way to remind people of that, I also feel that this quote in particular made a very good demonstration of why mods became part of the subculture in the first place.
In 1958 a new group was starting to emerge in London,They had no interest in the greasy 1950’s leather look, they were into a whole new way of life, they called   themselves Modernists,They were all about music, moves, medication and made to measure clothes.Bands including The Who and Small Faces began to adopt a Mod style therefore becoming growingly popular throughout teens. “I don’t wanna be the same as everybody else. That’s why I’m a Mod, see? I mean, you gotta be somebody, ain’t ya, or you might as well jump in the sea and drown.”
Jimmy Quadrophenia (1979)
The mods were the 
pinnacle of fashion, from there made to measure, expensive , Italian suits to there scruffy parka jackets to keep them perfectly turned out whilst whizzing around on there Vespa and Lambretta scooters.

Leave a Reply

