PAGE #2 – Positivity and encouragement

For this piece I wanted to promote a positive message and create an interesting piece of artwork to keep the audience interested and create the positive message we are looking for, firstly I found some quotes online although I did not want to use a famous quote I just wanted to make one up so I looked at some famous quotes, I kind of wanted to convey a message of that we can live on without computers, These are some of the quotes that I found that were very inspiring:
“One of the most feared expressions in modern times is ‘The computer is down.”
Norman Ralph Augustine

“The Internet: transforming society and shaping the future through chat.”

Dave Barry

Your computer needn’t be the first thing your see in the morning and the last thing you see at night.

Simon Mainwaring

http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/topics/topic_computers.html#w2ZqgZxdHe5FKfD5.99

I decided I wanted something like this as I feel its powerful and works nicely for my piece but I wanted mine to convey more of a message of we don’t need computers and like kind of be empowering,I was thinking about referring to the human brain and saying how we are more powerful and can do more than any computer could.Maybe something simple like “our brain will be our computer” or “our brain is better that our computer” then I thought of “man is the best computer of all” then I felt the word amazing rather than best had more impact.

I decided I would created this like the old death/murder warning notes where people cut out letters from newspapers. I decided I didn’t want mine to be this sinister and would like it to be more modern and positive so decided I would use lettering out of magazines to make it more colourful and demonstrate different interesting type faces.

I originally created this A4 mainly because the most effective letters in the magazine where to large to fit the whole quote onto an A5 page so I decided I would photocopy it and reduce the size.

Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 11.36.07
Original A4

I decided to make this on black paper as alot of the lettering I found interesting and chose to use had black backgrounds and also as a designer I prefer to work on black paper, I find it really interesting and think it look more modern in general apposed to normal white paper.

Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 11.36.57 Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 11.37.06 Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 11.37.12

I then photocopied this and although A5 is half of A4 its half of a landscape page not a portrait page which this piece is so I first tried 70% and turned out to be correct and fitting the page, I also felt the photocopy looks more professional as it is flatter and looks less scruffy.

Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 12.29.14
Final

This is a picture of my final piece that I then backed black card to be able to make it more durable inside the zine and create a more professional look.
I am really happy with this final piece although this isn’t a brilliant picture as it makes the black background look slightly light but it is a dark background.I am happy with this piece and think its simple yet effective and still sticks with that modern theme I was looking for.

Leave a Reply

