PAGE #1 – Travel

These were my initial ideas for my travel page,I wanted to show some imagery that represented travel and famous things people go to see around the world.
My first few ideas where of skylines and the second was of all different illustrations of different landmarks around the world that people would recognise.
I like the 3rd idea as I feel like pyramids really represent travel well.
My final idea was of the eiffel tower, I would like to attempt making this a cut out or maybe even pop-up, this would just make something slightly more interesting that a flat image, I really like the idea of this although need to work out what is feasible.

Screen Shot 2015-11-03 at 22.24.19I started of by doing a really simple drawing of the eiffel tower onto tracing paper to make it easily transferable I then tried to work out this could be pop out so extended pieces to try and push it out of the page slightly, I then places it onto a piece of paper that I had cut to a5 but had already decided that I Would create a flap at the bottom that would fold out in the zine to insure that the pop out had more of an effect and to keep it safe as it will be very delicate.

Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 11.32.57

So there is going to be a flap that goes upwards.
I created my first mockup to see how it would work at with no template it was just a case of trial and error to get I exactly the effect I wanted, the first one I did as shown in the picture was disconnected at the top which meant it didn’t pop out from the page with my desired effect.
I then decided that I had to leave some tabs uncut from the paper therefore making it pop out from the page although when making the mock up I realised that it looks really nice as its very simple yet effective so I am happy with the idea.

Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 11.33.23
I did realise though that my initial idea of having the title in top corner was good when it was going to just be one page but with the fold out bit there is too much space at the bottom in the fold out part of the design.

Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 11.33.33
I think I could put the title I have a few options for the title I have some gold letter stickers that I think would look really effective as the reason I have chosen the eiffel tower as I feel this connotes luxury and shows what we don’t want people to go on frivolous holidays and I feel like this presents a juxtaposition to a usual informative poster that would have plain text and makes it interesting although I feel maybe this does not make a strong enough message.

My first idea was that I wanted to say “no more travel” although after taking some advice from group members and doing some research into what digital means transport uses, this resulting in me realising we would still have some travel left so that statement would not be accurate.
We would still have things such a steam trains, boats although this is a very limited way of travel so if everyone is still taking trips and holidays there will be chaos as there will be no transport for important trips.
I thought about staying essential travel only please but I feel this is not specific enough and some people would consider a holiday as essential.
I have decided upon the title “no unnecessary travel please” I feel like this is more specific and shows the exact message I want to present.

I decided upon using letraset technique to make my type as this is going to be a very strong message and makes a lot more sense for a piece like this rather than the italic gold font.
Letraset is done by placing the paper with he letters on over your grid and placing the letter where you want it but rubbing it onto the page.

Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 11.34.01

Once I had worked out how to extend the top piece of my design to be pop out and not to come off the page, I cut my new template out onto my card and then stuck it on to my black background as this made the image clear and easier to see what it is.

Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 11.33.51  Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 11.33.07Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 11.33.43

Once the inside was done and I folded it over I realised that it might be bit confusing to the audience as there is nothing to instruct them to open it up.
That is why I decided I would make this beautiful and intriguing for my audience.
Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 11.34.09
This is the inside of my final piece, I am happy with it overall although the word unnecessary is slightly of centre although I did draw a grid, not sure how this happened.

I then realised that it would not work for the ring binder so I attached a side piece at the back of card with hole punches in to hold it into the ring binder.

This is the outside cover with the instruction to pull down with a detailed and eye catching arrow to make people interested and want to read more.

Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 11.54.52

Leave a Reply

