Stylistic Decisions as a group

Whilst talking about stylistic decisions we wanted to make a decision on wanted the piece to be like as in our week off we would not be able to see each other as often and we felt that this was going to be difficult so we decided to have a cohesive finish to the piece we needed to set some guide lines to insure we all had something to work to over our week off, Initially our idea was that as we were using old techniques it should be vintage looking and almost scruffy and after doing some research we found that we could make this look quite effective such as the pieces below.
Screen Shot 2015-10-20 at 19.38.57 Screen Shot 2015-10-20 at 19.39.14 ]

After further research and consideration and discussion I suggested that might not be the best idea for a number of reasons, firstly because I feel as if this is a very obvious option and I feel like it would not be to dissimilar from others zines when given this brief also I felt as if the situation for the brief is that we are promoting ourselves in this new era of design without digital means and I felt like the worst thing we could do was show that we were going years back just because have lost digital means, I felt the best way to promote myself was to show that even through the change of possibility, style and fashion I can still have contemporary and stylised piece, I did not want a change my design style or the quality of my work just because of losing digital means.
I also decided this was a good idea as it gives you an edge on other designers as a lot of designers will use that first idea that me and my group came up with first of all so there would be very similar outcomes.
I feel this is a better route to go down so this is where I will start my development.
The idea is to take older techniques and make modern art work and informScreen Shot 2015-10-23 at 18.26.52ative design.A lot of the inspiration I found was of very simplistic and minimalist design which is the fashion these days within design.

This was one of the pieces that inspired me during my research and shows how
can be very effective in design.I think this is very effective as it gives an old feel with the black and white images and the simple type faces although I feel the layout and the colour scheme and symplisticy is extremely modern and very effective.
I feel as if the brown paper with black looks very effective too.

Leave a Reply

