Kerning in illustrator

Kerning can be very simple but you have to have a good eye for how it should look and how close you should go.
This is the way I tend to do kerning in illustrator, this can also be done in indesign.Screen Shot 2015-10-15 at 19.04.39

I start by opening the “character” window to access my tools a lot easier.
This is in window > type > character.

The tool I look for is the tool circled in pink.
This tool enables me to move the letter further or closer to the adjacent letterform.

Screen Shot 2015-10-15 at 19.08.11

I next want to select the letterform that I would like to move.

Screen Shot 2015-10-15 at 18.57.15

One the drop down list I can select different amounts of movement and how much of the gap I want to be moved.
This will preview how much movement moves and what it will look like making it easier to make a judgement call and to create the look I want.It makes it a case of trial and error.

Leave a Reply

